Launch of IACC’s East India Chapter

Date : 15 March 2022

Location : Taj Bengal, Kolkata

Topic : Launch of IACC’s East India Chapter

Moderators : Ms. Petula Thomas, CEO, IACC

The Chamber launched its East India Chapter on 15 March 2022 at a hybrid event in Kolkata. The session was moderated by Ms. Petula Thomas, CEO, IACC and the Opening remarks were delivered by Ms. Rowan Ainsworth, Australian Consul General in Kolkata. Keynote Address were delivered by by The Hon Minister Firhad Hakim, Minister in Charge, Urban Development & Municipal Affairs Department, Transport Department and Housing Department, Government of West Bengal & Mayor of Kolkata (in-person) and The Hon Dan Tehan MP, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment, Government of Australia (virtual). Special Address were delivered by Smt. Vandana Yadav IAS, Managing Director, WBIDC and Secretary, Department of Industry, Commerce & Enterprise, Government of West Bengal and Shri Rajesh Pandey IAS, Principal Secretary, Department of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises and Textiles, Government of West Bengal. The event also included a panel discussion ‘The Australia-India Partnership: METS & Resources sectors’, moderated by Mr. Sanjeev Nandwani, Mentor and Advisor, East India Trade Advisors. Panelists included Mr. Kanjanabha Bhattacharyya, President – Corporate Strategy, Tega Industries, Mr. Bhanu Rahoni, Director – Trade & Investment, Western Australia Trade and Investment Office (WATO), India, Mr. Jasmeet Singh Kalsi, Co-Chair of IACC’s Resources & METS Leadership Forum and Director, Manikaran Power Ltd and Mr. Parthiban Jaikumar, Head - Mining, Resources and Energy (South Asia), Trade and Investment Queensland (TIQ). Ms. Aparajita Banerjee, Chairperson of IACC’s East India Chapter and Director & CEO, Astrit Research and Business Advisory Services delivered the Closing Remarks. Thank you to event sponsors Australian Consulate General in Kolkata, Austrade, Kothari Industries (Platinum Sponsors), Tega Industries, Manikaran Power Ltd, Tata Consultancy Services (Silver Sponsors) and Indismart Group (Bronze Sponsor).